Bighorn Backcountry

Explore the region’s public lands

The Bighorn Backcountry is more than 5,000 square kilometres of public lands east of the mountain national parks, covering most of our region.

Most of our region falls under what is known as public land use zones, aka PLUZ. These zones are different than what we usually refer to as crown-land, based mostly on how they are managed by Alberta Environment.

The Bighorn Backcountry is divided into six PLUZ, with four of them covering most of our region:

  • Blackstone Wapiabi
  • Job/Cline
  • Kiska/Wilson
  • Upper Clearwater/Ram

Each of the PLUZ has a slightly different set of rules when it comes to recreation with some allowing motorized activities where other areas are primarily opened to activities like hiking, snowshoeing and paddling.

You can find out more about recreation in the PLUZ on the Government of Alberta website.

Follow Our Adventures

Sign up to get our emails with the latest stories, adventures and deals.

Talk to us about all your adventure-related needs.

You can find us at the Nordegg Canteen:
4 Stuart Sreet, Nordegg, AB, T0M 2H0

We acknowledge that the land on which we gather, explore and adventure is home to the Îyârhe Nakoda First Nation and the Smallboy Mountain Cree, part of the Treaty 6 and Treaty 8 Territories, part of the Métis Nation of Alberta Region 3, and has been the traditional meeting ground for many Indigenous Peoples since time immemorial. We are grateful for the stewardship of these lands along with the knowledge, traditions, and teachings that have been passed down through generations.

© 2024 Nordegg Adventures Corporation